Seven Song Saturday

This was supposed to be a Five-song (or more) Friday post,  but alas, circumstances have forced me into the wee hours to bring you guys what we’ll now call “Seven Song Saturday.” These seven songs are ones I’ve grown to love over the past few months or fell for immediately. There’s no real rhyme or reason to why I chose them, other than they’re all awesome. So without further ado, here’s this week’s installment of Seven Song Saturday.

The Law of the Playground The Boy Least Likely To – Every Goliath Has Its David

I really love this band. It’s actually two guys who are exceptionally adept at creating twee-pop gems. Their first album, The Best Party Ever was a little less structured than the album that this tune comes from, their sophomore effort The Law of the Playground. It’s funny that the album art – a cute, cuddly creature manning a tank – perfectly describes the kind of stuff you’ll hear here. It is cheery-sounding, glockenspiel-laden music that sometimes deals with some pretty adult themes. The title of this song is great, too. Every favorite has an underdog just waiting to knock them off. If you can’t enjoy this song on at least some base level, I’m not sure what’s wrong.

Little Joy Little Joy – Next Time Around

This is a side project of Strokes drummer Fabrizio Moretti, and you can definitely hear that sound at work at least in part here. There is a sort of simple elegance to the songs on Little Joy’s self-titled debut. They’re well constructed and heartfelt songs that show Moretti and his two singer-songwriter bandmates have an ear for melody.

Rules The Whitest Boy Alive – 1517

Keeping with the side project vibe, this is the alter band ego of Kings of Convenience frontman Erland Oye (why do these guys have such awesome, original names?). The keyboard riffing here is catchy and cool, and I dig it.

Bitte Orca The Dirty Projectors – Stillness Is The Move

A sort of hybrid between hip-hop style groove and beats, The Dirty Projectors are one of the more unique acts out there. The breakdown around the 2-minute mark is cool, I think. This song has a lovely, loosey-goosey feel to it, which a lot of TDP’s stuff does.

Here We Go Magic Here We Go Magic – Fangela

I really like the feel of this song: The strumming guitar that seems to sort of wander in from far away, the nice plucking that joins it and then the steady beat that loops throughout. And the repeated chorus of “Fangela” is pretty impossible not to get stuck in your head for at least awhile. These guys are opening right now for Grizzly Bear, and I’ve heard it’s one helluva show. I have no doubt.

Rose City Viva Voce – Octavio

I heard this song on XM not too long ago, and was instantly hooked. The beat almost sounds tribal at the beginning, but it’s really cool what they do with just a few guitar chords here. And the paired male and female vocals were sure to win me over, I’m a sucker for that. This song does a lot with not a lot of bells and whistles. Coolio.

Manners Passion Pit – The Reeling

I’ll be honest, I have to be in a particular mood to enjoy Passion Pit’s stuff. I’m not entirely sure how to describe that mood, but I just know. This song is off its newest album Manners, and I think what got me initially about this song and made me want to re-listen wasn’t the synthy-pop beat, but the vocal part where Michael Angelakos asks “Look at me, look at me, is this the way I’ll always be?” and the chorus answers “Oh noooooooo ohhhh ohh ohhhhhhhhh.” It’s awesome.

Zip Folder with “Seven Song Saturday” goodness

Bonus: Passion Pit’s To Kingdom Come, also from Manners

So there you have it, the first SSS installment. More to come for sure, and I’ve got vacation coming up so hopefully that will mean more posts. Enjoy the tunes!

  1. Leave a comment

Share your thoughts!

