Quotable Quickies

Man, I just can’t help it with the alliteration on this blog. What follows are some songs I think are worth checking out, with a lyric or two quoted and, where necessary, some background information. Hope you can find room for these tunes in your music collection.

Product DetailsCalifornia On My Mind” By Wild Light (From Adult Nights, out now on Sony) – Lyric: “Give me a lake that I can dive into / Bury my head in the shit at the bottom / F*#k today / F%#k San Francisco /F*#k California.” You’d think that with lyrics like that, this song would be a bit of a downer. Wrong! It’s punchy and fun indie rock… with kinda melancholy lyrics. Not sure what California did to them.

Product DetailsBe Calm” By Fun. (From Aim & Ignite, out August 25 on Nettwerk Productions) – Lyric: “If only I could find my people or my place in life / a when they come a’carolin’ / so loud, so bright, the theremin / will lead us to a chorus / where we’ll all rejoice and sing a song that goes: Oh be calm.” Former frontman of The Format Nate Ruess’ new band is, as the group’s name would suggest, a lot of fun. This song is thoroughly enjoyable for the pace changes alone. This album should be a fantastic, shining gold nugget of indie pop.

Product DetailsPistols” By Throw Me The Statue (From Creaturesque, out now on Secretly Canadian) – Lyric: “Annie this is how things go / You lose your suburbs and my coastlines wanna meet ya” The crazy-awesome drum track that supplies the beat and rhythmic guitar strums are enough to “pull me in” here (you’ll get it when you listen).

Product DetailsSpringtime” By Annuals (From Such Fun, out now on Sony) – Lyric: “Well I never meant you harm when I laid you down / Told a story about your life as a kid /With every word I say, let one tear drop /Until it all comes clear /Just unlocks in time to hear /Springtime sing” It’s a bit ironic that I chose to quote a lyric from this piano-driven, peaceful romp from a band that is superb at straddling genres on this album. Ironic because, as my friend Matt pointed out recently, the best two parts of the song might be the two wordless-chorus interludes (keep an ear out for the first one around the 1:35 mark). This song, to me, is beautiful.

Product DetailsAll There Is To Say About Love” By Bike For Three! (From More Heart Than Brains, out now on Anticon) – Lyric: “Over the phone, it’s good to know we’re not alone /With all the broken parts in the world and our own. /The sleeping ache. All the messes that we make. /Sound, you can count on me to come around when you break.” What do you get when you combine a Canadian rapper with a gift for rapidfire imagery and a Belgian electronic artist, but never have them actually meet? Not only do you get a unique sound, you get this beautiful song. The bleeps, blips, clicks, clacks from Joelle Phuong Minh Le (known as Greetings From Tuskan) somehow form a wonderful melody and it meshes just well enough with Buck 65’s edgy, raspy delivery to create harmony. Read a brief explanation of the collaboration here.

Product Details40 Day Dream” By Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros (From Up From Below, out now on Community Music/Fairfax Records) – Lyric: “She got jumper cable lips /She got sunset on her breath /I inhaled just a little bit /Now I got no fear of death” Doesn’t that little lyrical snippet just kick ass? This band is a throwback to hippie music of the 1960s and 70s, and I love plenty off their album. Just saw they’re one of Rolling Stone‘s artists to watch in 2009. With good reason.

Product DetailsI Know What I Am” By Band of Skulls (From Baby Darling Doll Face Honey, out now on Shangri-La Music LLC) – Lyric: “I know what I am, /they know what they are /So let me be /I know what I am!” Bluesy garage rock with attitude. Pretty awesome.

Product DetailsTrouble” By Ray LaMontagne (From Trouble, out now on Stone Dwarf, LLC/RCA) – Lyric:  “Trouble /Been doggin’ my soul since the day I was born /Worry /Just will not seem to leave my mind alone /I’ve been saved by a woman /I’ve been saved by a woman /I’ve been saved by a woman /She won’t let me go” If by now you haven’t A. Seen the Traveler’s Insurance commercial with this song in it or B. Heard this song before, I don’t know where you’ve been. But it’s great. There’s a real timeless quality to LaMontagne’s voice, and I don’t listen to his music enough. I’ll remedy that, you enjoy this song.

That’s all for now.

  1. #1 by Matt on August 19, 2009 - 12:20 PM

    Great post Sean!

  2. #2 by Susan on August 19, 2009 - 1:42 PM

    I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Susan

    http://disturbialyrics.net

Share your thoughts!

