Laura Marling: Rambling Man

Laura Marling, presumably at her kitchen table. Photo from last.fm.

“Let it always be known, that I was who I am”

It’s nearly impossible not to fall in love with Laura Marling. Her voice, somehow sounding like it blew in with the morning breeze but then reaching powerful crescendos like an afternoon thunderstorm, belies the fact that she is merely 20 years old. The first single from her soon-to-be-released sophomore album I Speak Because I Can, “Devil’s Spoke” is a medieval-flavored strumfest about getting tough and conquering those love demons.

The tune that TWJ offers here today is an example of that movement from whispering in your ear to shouting at you from the mountaintops that makes Marling so talented and so attractive, um, vocally. Her musical accompaniment takes center-stage at times here, but her voice is what makes the song tick. And tock. And tick again.

Image

Rambling Man” By Laura Marling (From I Speak Because I Can, out April 6 on Virgin Records)

Devil’s Spoke” By Laura Marling (From I Speak Because I Can, out April 6 on Virgin Records)

Product DetailsGhosts” By Laura Marling (From Alas I Cannot Swim, out now on Virgin Records)

  1. Leave a comment

Share your thoughts!

