Radical Face: Doorways

I’ve raved before about Ben Cooper. As one half of Electric President, he’s crafted wonderfully dark and poignant indie electronic music. Cooper’s solo work as Radical Face has always intrigued me, in particular for its simple but powerful instrumentation and wonderfully touching lyrics.

Imagine my excitement when I learned that Cooper is releasing an EP containing a few new Radical Face songs, called Touch The Sky, in a little more than a month (Nov. 16). The lyrics for the first single from the new EP, “Doorways”, is where the EP gets its name. Two wonderful piano melodies weave together here to create a lovely and gripping tune. And the words Cooper write, as usual, are fantastic.

Word is that Cooper plans to release three full-length albums during the next year, in a trilogy called “The Family Tree.” I, for one, cannot wait to hear what music emerges from Radical Face next. Here is RF’s new single, and the video for the wonderful “Doorways”.

Direct download (Right-click, choose “Save As”)

Doorways

When I was just a boy still owl-eyed
I liked to drink the rain to taste the sky
I tried to count the stars while in my bed
to keep the thoughts of monsters from my head

and I believed the stars were wishes
I believed the world was good
I believed things hid in the dark
and that all would turn out just how it should
I believed in all your stories
I believed you’d never lie
I believed if I could climb the trees behind the house,
I’d touch the sky

I believed the skies were doorways home

A fantastic, sort of “Where The Wild Things Are” meets “Lord of the Flies” video for the song…

Check out Cooper’s art and such here.

Cooper’s first album as Radical Face was called Ghosts, and it dealt with an idea: What if houses had memories? Current TV did a really interesting pod about it that you can check out here.

Quite possibly my favorite song of anything Cooper’s done.

Radical Face – Wrapped In Piano Strings by The Wounded Jukebox

–Sean

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by gagas little monsters on July 5, 2011 - 4:13 PM

    Hi, I like your website, I am a little monster and I think Lady Gaga is the best.

    • #2 by The Wounded Jukebox on July 6, 2011 - 11:19 PM

      And because of all three of those things, you are the raddest person ever. Thank you for being you.

Share your thoughts!

