The Jet Rodriguez: “Fountain Of Youth”

I won’t lie to you, dear readers. It was the name of this Detroit trio that first drew me in. I grew up with the timeless, priceless baseball movie “The Sandlot“, and of course if you know that movie, you know Benny “The Jet” Rodriguez and his significance to that movie. So when I saw that these Oakland University products had named themselves (I can only assume) after that fateful character, I was hoping for a winner. And I wasn’t disappointed.

The Jet Rodriguez does an interesting blend of dirty blues, folk and rock music —  a steady bass guitar, some capable strumming on the lead guitar, and just enough banjo mixed in as well. Add in some rollicking drums and it’s a recipe for some memorable listening. “Fountain Of Youth” wastes little time kicking it into high gear, but the repeating chorus is where this song really grabs the listener. Give it a good spin, and if you enjoy it, you can get the whole album — Mourning Days/Morning Daze for free until May 22.

The Jet Rodriguez – Fountain of Youth by The Wounded Jukebox

BONUS! For a little bit more of the blues-rock side, check out the title track as well.

The Jet Rodriguez – Mourning Days/Morning Daze by The Wounded Jukebox

Mourning Days/Morning Daze Cover Art

[Facebook]  [MySpace]  [Bandcamp]

–Sean

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Isela Stupp on April 13, 2011 - 3:58 AM

    I agree with your thoughts here and I well love your blog! I’ve bookmarked it so that I can come back & read more in the future. Your post is very interesting. I’ve read your blog for few days now and I trully enjoy your blog. Thank you for your great work!

Share your thoughts!

