Stepdad: “My Leather, My Fur, My Nails”

The musical composition that is Stepdad’s “My Leather, My Fur, My Nails” sounds like a video game theme song on synthesizer-infused steroids. Like, when you get to the end of this fantastically quirky and fun tune, you’ll find that your princess is in another castle, and you must continue exploring this Grand Rapids, Michigan trio’s bodacious levels. One of the band’s members goes by Ultramark; that kind of sounds like a super hero type character, right?

Any group that makes music this buoyant, energetic and likable is fine by me. And any band that makes a Captain Planet reference in its background information (they list their influences as Earth, Wind, Fire, Water and Heart). Had I not discovered “My Leather, My Fur, My Nails” at almost 1 a.m., I might have blasted its irresistible hooks from my stereo 10 times in a row. But you have the chance to start your day with this discovery that brightened my late-night music searching like whoa. And you can download the band’s entire 8-song EP on bandcamp for ONE DOLLAR. Man is it worth that and so much more.

The band is currently working on their first full-length. I can’t wait. You can fund it via kickstarter here.

Take me out of water, shrink me in the dryer, strut around and let the world know

what disaster means. Take me out of water, shrink me in the dryer,

I. Don’t. Suit. My skin. 

This video is flippin priceless as well. I’m suddenly in love with this band.

Stepdad – My Leather My Fur My Nails by The Wounded Jukebox

Ordinaire EP Cover Art

[Facebook]  [MySpace]  [Official site]  [Bandcamp]  [Twitter]

–Sean

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Share your thoughts!

