The Portland (Oregon) Playlist

Greetings

Sara is known all around the nation as the premier mixer.  If you have a cd in the mail from her, your week is made.  She’s the founder of The Playlist and like all the best people in life, plays the Tuba in her spare time.  Somehow, we roped her into making a special playlist just for The Wounded Jukebox, and you can download all the songs in her brand new Portland (Oregon) smattering below…you lucky dog you.

  1. Lately – The Helio Sequence
  2. Paper Thin Walls – Modest Mouse
  3. The Bitter End – Blind Pilot
  4. Modern Girl – Sleater-Kinney
  5. Furr – Blitzen Trapper
  6. Danger – Sallie Ford & The Sound Outside
  7. The Night Pt. 1 – The Builders and The Butchers
  8. Wet and Rusting – Menomena
  9. Curs In The Weeds – Horse Feathers
  10. Pop Song – Starfucker
  11. With You – Stars Of Track & Field
  12. The Crack In The Sea – Boy Eats Drum Machine
  13. Small Town Parade – Laura Gibson
  14. Against the Law – Sallie Ford & The Sound Outside
  15. So Post All ‘Em – YACHT
  16. Little Sally Tutorial – The Blow
  17. Hey Eugene (Watch Your Back) – Pink Martini
  18. Muscle’n Flo – Menomena
  19. Leaving Light – Talkdemonic
  20. Until The Day Dims – The Woodlands
  21. Where Gravity Is Dead – Laura Veirs
  22. No Regrets – Lovers

Download the Portland (Oregon) Mix here!

When I moved to Portland, OR three years ago I thought I was taking my Indie/Alternative pilgrimage to the Mecca. I imagined myself flailing among flannel-clad hipsters in the front row while all of my favorite bands played in unison. I thought I could see The Blow perform at least once a month and that Khaela Maricich would probably even play at one of the many house parties I would attend. I imagined walking down the street and high-fiving Carrie Brownstein because we drink at the same bar on Thursday nights. I envisioned every radio in Portland tuned into the same college radio-esqu station. It would have a community, DIY feel and impeccable taste. But then I actually moved here and my wide, Ohio eyes saw the truth.

1) I am too old to flail among the hipsters. If there is balcony seating, I will find it. I will get pleasantly drunk without sweating and as I exit the crowded venue I will thank God that I was not standing next to the hipsters that smell so bad that I breathe through my mouth until I am outside.

2) The Blow moved to Brooklyn the month after I moved here.

3) Carrie Brownstein does live in Portland. I have never seen her, nor would she high-five me if I did.

4) Portland radio is exactly like Ohio radio.

Hipster-flailing could be achieved if I really wanted it so we’ll put that one aside. Points two and three are obviously far beyond my control. The most I can do is stay put in my Carrie Brownstein Appreciation Group on Facebook and hope that one day she’ll see I’m the only one of three total members who actually lives in Portland and seek me out for my opinions on her career. I follow Khaela on Twitter so I have The Blow in Brooklyn situation covered as best I can, too.

The really irksome thing though—the buzzing bee in my bonnet—is Portland radio. We have an alternative station that is so close to good that it hurts and I wonder if this plagues other cities as well. Maybe I just have higher standards for Portland. I remember the alternative station in Columbus, Ohio being wonderful! A beacon of good taste among Train and Shakira stations! But maybe I just expected nothing more from Ohio, so when I did get more, I rejoiced! I expect a lot from Portland. Here we listen to 94.7 FM. They play some great stuff… occasionally. But usually, they have a necrophilia-bordering relationship with Seven Nation Army, Nirvana and Alice in Chains’ Rooster. We all loved it but it is dead now. Every so often I like to dust off an old track and remember my time with it. Remember how it touched me and the way our voices intertwined while singing in the car. 94.7 does not just remember. It makes love to these tracks. Repeatedly and publicly. All we can do is look away and change the station.

Recently 94.7 touted “new music from Passion Pit next!” Oh boy oh boy was I excited. I could have peed myself. I had no idea they had a new album! When was it released? How did I miss that? I hope I like it as much as I liked Sleepyhead! I listened to one more mattress commercial and then!

Sleepyhead. Sounding three years tired.

After that, I went home and researched what it would take to own my own FM radio station. It turns out you need money and legal skills, neither of which I will ever have. So, it looks like we’re stuck together 94.7. I’ll have to accept your faults and appreciate the occasional morsel you throw my way. I’ll pretend to see the glint irony in your eye when you inundate us with 80’s pop rather than the seriousness in which you actually love it. I’ll tune out while you have your way with Kurt and Billy each hour. And I’ll just pray that in ten years you’ve forgotten about Foster the People and will spare us another very painful revival.

Download the Portland (Oregon) Mix here!

You can also visit TWJ’s SoundCloud page and explore/download these and over a hundred other songs.

-Sara

  1. #1 by Allison Rizk on August 13, 2011 - 9:28 AM

    I think Helio Sequence is one of THE best unsung and unrecognized bands out there. Kudos to you for putting them first on this list. Bravo!

    • #2 by The Wounded Jukebox on August 18, 2011 - 4:30 PM

      Agreeeeeeed! Love and Distance is an amazing record.

Share your thoughts!

