The Breedings: “Impatient Love”

For the longest time, whenever anyone asked me whether I was into country music, my stock reply was “I don’t really seek it out, but I’ll certainly listen to it.” Kinda lame, right? Well, when the album from The Breedings popped into our inbox, I had no idea what genre it was initially. They are a brother-sister duo from Kentucky, and when brother Willie Breeding said he and sister Erin set out to record a “spooky country album,” I was certainly intrigued. When he said that’s not at all what they ended up with, I decided I had to listen. Laughing At Luck isn’t an album I would’ve sought out, but man am I glad it found its way to my ears.

Erin Breeding has pipes I’d stack up against any country singer out there. She takes songs that are already well-constructed — great melodies, slick production and steady songwriting — and elevates them to another level. Willie had previously recorded a pair of solo albums in Brooklyn, but his reunion with his sister has produced a wonderful alt-country record. I can’t imagine the pair will be unsung for very long, as there are plenty of tracks on Laughing At Luck that would fit quite nicely on radio playlists. They’re currently in Nashville, Tennessee. I’d say that’s perfect.

The Breedings – Impatient Love by The Wounded Jukebox

The Breedings – When It All Comes Down by The Wounded Jukebox

The Breedings – Come Summer by The Wounded Jukebox

[Bandcamp]  [Facebook]

–Sean

, ,

  1. #1 by Norma Downey Blair on August 20, 2011 - 2:37 PM

    Erin has a BIG voice and the “sounds” are great:)

Share your thoughts!

