Karin Park: “Tiger Dreams”

Most of the time, I behave. I do whatever I am told. I try to dance with my eyes closed. I try to stand what I cannot change. But I have tiger dreams.

We all feel that itch to break free from the monotony of everyday life. Punch the clock for 8 hours, come home and zone out in front of the television, a little light reading before bed. Get up and do it all over again. Every day the same. Every day that urge to change it. We all have, as stated above, Tiger Dreams.

I didn’t know much about Karin Park before hearing the spooky, sonic grooves of “Tiger Dreams.” But she seems the perfect candidate to write about that feeling of small-town angst. A native of Djura, a town of 400 in Dalarna, Sweden, Park scored a hit right out of the box in 2004 with “Superworldunknown,” a song that hit the top of Norway’s charts. Seven years later, she’s still making the effort to grow as an artist.

Under the thinnest of eyelids, grows the wildest dreams…

To me, she’s kind of like a hybrid of Lykke Li and St. Vincent. Park collaborated with Christoffer Berg, who’s worked with the likes of Little Dragon and Fever Ray. There’s a real yearning to “Tiger Dreams,” and it seethes beneath scratchy, warped looping effects and some electronic, drum-machine beats. I just love the mood that Park creates here, and the lyrics are simple and to the point.

But I have tiger dreams, I’m a runner, I’m a hunter, in the dark. Always hungry.

Karin Park – Tiger Dreams by flagstone 

The Tiger Dreams EP will be out September 19 on State of the Eye Recordings.

[Official Site]  [Facebook]

–Sean

, ,

  1. #1 by Karin Park on August 28, 2011 - 5:19 AM

    I love it when people totally gets it. Thanks for not only scratching the surface.

    • #2 by The Wounded Jukebox on September 8, 2011 - 12:18 PM

      I love the song! Thank you for taking the time to read, and for making great music 🙂 Hope to hear plenty more from you, Karin! — Sean

  2. #3 by Matt on September 19, 2011 - 5:46 AM

    Great track!

Share your thoughts!

