What Our Parents Think: M83 | Shabazz Palaces | Bombay Bicycle Club | St. Vincent | Twin Sister | Little Dragon

WhatOurParentsThink

We love to torture our parents.  And as you might assume, our preferred method is through the use of modern music: the stuff kids listen to these days.  So in the latest edition of What Our Parents Think, we took advantage of the generosity and love from our sires and put the musical limits of Sean and Matt’s parents to the test with some of our recent favorites.

M83 – “Midnight City”
M83 – Midnight City by alejandrom-ndezo

SM: Something about it reminds me of The Moody Blues.  Maybe it’s the guy’s voice.  There’s really too many things competing with each other though…

MM: Lots O’ Energy! I could almost see lights flashing. I could almost do without the voice.

SD: I like it.  It reminds me of the band that sings that “Yellow”, with the crescendo and all that.

MD: It conveyed a rich scene the title describes.  I mean, the music was repetitive, but pleasantly.  And the vocals very much complimented the music.

Shabazz Palaces – “Swerve…The Reeping Of All That Is Worthwhile (Noir Not Withstanding)”
Shabazz Palaces – Swerve… The Reeping Of All That Is Worthwhile (Noir Not Withstanding) by oh666no

MM: Pbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbth.

SM: Is that part of it? (a little later) This is part of the same song? I thought I kind of liked that sound at the beginning, but now it’s kind of annoying. (a little later) This is still the same song?  Did you understand the words?

SD: Some of them.  They sound like there’s three different songs.  Like there were three different things going on.

MD: It’s over already?  *sighs*

Bombay Bicycle Club – “Shuffle”
Bombay Bicycle Club “Shuffle” (radio edit) by GrillMarketing

*Sean’s Mother and Father were nursing their ears during this selection.

MM: *toe tapping* I couldn’t understand the words, but I liked the music!  It had a good rhythm.

MD: The vocals and instruments seemed to be set on a loop, but somehow I enjoyed everything.  They’re off to a good start with the first single.  I wish them luck on their album.

St. Vincent – “Surgeon”
St Vincent – Surgeon by snipelondon

SD: The beginning is like some sort of a dream sequence.  But the rest of the song doesn’t fit with the start of it.  It’s kind of annoying.

SM: Is that the way it’s supposed to sound? She has a really pretty voice, but there’s too many things competing with it.  And those are real instruments?  It kind of sounds like they’re playing a music track.

MD: I felt like the synthesizers detracted and made drastic changes from the theme of the song.

MM: This was my favorite out of all of them. Her voice was gorgeous! The whole thing sounded like toxins being released. I like it. I like all the instruments.

Twin Sister – “Bad Street”
Twin Sister – Bad Street by snipelondon

MM: I don’t know what she was trying to say, but I didn’t get it.  Very repetitive.

MD: I actually thought the lyrics were decipherable, but annoyingly repetitive.

SD: It almost sounded out of key.  It doesn’t sound right.

SM: Is she saying “I want it bad”?  Jeez.  Beep Beep! it had a good rhythm.

Little Dragon – “Nightlight”
Little Dragon – Nightlight by VeeAre

SM: That was English?  Are you trying to play music we don’t like? I’m very glad it’s over.

SD: I didn’t think it was that bad.  At least it had some rhythm.

MM: I like that she wasn’t a screamer.  Her voice wasn’t abrasive.  I’m happy about that.  Lots of neat background noises too.

MD: It’s outer space music!  Like if the Hubble Space Telescope would play music.  And she had a really nice voice.

.

.

MD: And no offense, but next time, try to find us some songs that sound like music…please.

Tune in next time to see if we can actually do such a thing.

-Sean and Matt

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Share your thoughts!

