The Seattle Music Scene: “Something In The Water”

At least half of the music I post about these days is from Seattle, partly because that’s what I’m surrounded with, but also because it’s a great spot for music. I was inspired by a short PBS documentary about modern Seattle music. It’s only 13 minutes long and gives you a quick rundown of the Seattle scene. I included the trailer, but I recommend watching the whole video here. I’m also including some of my favorite songs from the bands featured in the documentary. I would include a lot more bands and groups from Seattle on here. so don’t think this is all that Seattle’s got to offer. Some of my favorites lately are Campfire OK, Gold Leaves, Blue Scholars, Made In Heights, The Cave Singers and tons more.

Hacienda Motel by Pickwick

Blue Scholars – Cinemetropolis by The Wounded Jukebox

The Head and the Heart – Down in the Valley by subpop

Shabazz Palaces – An Echo From The Hosts That Profess Infinitum by subpop

-Glenn

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Laura Huysman on October 27, 2011 - 8:20 PM

    killin it, double n! melody from campfire ok was my barista at all city and we used to see each other at shows at least once a week! man, life is different now…

    • #2 by The Wounded Jukebox on October 28, 2011 - 9:20 PM

      That’s awesome, Laura! They are so quirky. Thanks for reading

Share your thoughts!

